RACHEL'S RUMINATIONS!

Sometimes you just have to write…

I did it!

ThemeteaserI did it! By publishing this post today, I have successfully completed the NaBloPoMo challenge: to post every single day for a month. (I didn’t really address the theme, which was “hot,” but that was optional anyway.)

This is the second time I’ve done a blog challenge; the first was last April – you can see all my posts from that month here.

It’s still a struggle for me. Or, at least, it’s a struggle when I don’t have an uncluttered mind, which is most of the time.

However, this time I felt like it went better. In April, some of the posts were, to quote a British friend of mine, “a bit crap.” This time (and I’m sure you’ll correct me if I’m wrong), I think the quality was more consistent, and higher.

Doing a challenge like this is good for my writing skills. The more I write, the better it flows, and the less I have to rewrite and rephrase. This challenge, in other words, was easier than the first time, and I was able to spend less time writing while producing better quality.

Some people doing these challenges enjoy it so much that they keep posting daily for months, or even years. I’m not one of those people.

While I was away on vacation, I definitely enjoyed it. Some observation during the day would start a thought process that would simmer away in the back of my mind. In the evening I’d sit down and write about it. Then in the morning, I’d reread, rewrite and post it.

Once I got back home, though, and started work again, posting became a chore. And I’m not sure, but I think the quality went down as well, because I wasn’t letting it sit overnight and then rereading, but rather posting as soon as I was done.

So I won’t continue to post every day. I’ve gotten some great feedback, and certainly increased my readership, but I can’t sustain this and sustain my paid jobs at the same time. I’ll go back to posting once on the weekend and also, when I can, posting once during the week.

I’d still like to increase my readership, though, so if anyone reading this has particularly enjoyed any of my posts this month, please click here (the archive for August), find the post you liked, and repost it! Post it on your Facebook page, or tweet it to your twitter followers, or, if you’d like, repost it on your own blog (but let me know if you want to do that last!).

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 31, 2013 by in Writing and tagged , .
