RACHEL'S RUMINATIONS!

Sometimes you just have to write…

A is for April

Spring weather

Today is the first day of the month and the weather overnight was well below freezing, so we’re still nowhere near springtime here in the perpetually-frozen northeast of the Netherlands.

On the other hand, it’s not raining, which, in Holland, is always something to celebrate. We rarely see such a bright blue sky as I can see from my window right now.

April is my favorite month. It’s partly for the reason everyone would give: the arrival of spring. But spring seems to have changed its mind this year, so that reason doesn’t seem to apply right now.

 

My birthday

It’s also partly because my birthday is in April. Even at my age, when birthdays seem to have become something to fear, I love my birthday.

I suppose it has to do with cake. On my birthday, I always bake myself an American cake: a layer cake with frosting between the layers and lots of frosting on top. I use a mix, but, to be honest, the mix comes out better than cakes I bake from scratch.

(I hasten to point out that I bake it for myself not because I’m a sad, lonely loser for whom no one else would bake a cake. It’s because that’s the way it’s done here: people bake or buy a cake for themselves and offer slices with coffee to their visitors and family.)

Certainly, I can eat cake on other days besides my birthday. I do, in fact, sometimes, when it’s someone else’s birthday. The difference is that on my birthday, I can eat cake without guilt. It’s my cake, and I enjoy it.

 

My trip to the US

This year, I’ve been looking forward to April for months because I’m going to visit the US for the first time in four years.

April Fool’s prank

 

April Fool’s Day

April Fool’s Day is today. This is something I’ve never done much about, or at least not since pulling some rather lame jokes in elementary school. I watch out for the prank stories in the newspapers, but that’s about it.

Our “extra son,” on the other hand, is clearly used to doing some significant pranks each year, so I’m a bit on my guard today. You can see in the photo what greeted my husband going down the stairs today. It was only partly successful: a bit lumpy to look real, so it brought a laugh rather than a shriek of horror. On the other hand, the scenario is altogether believable because of the frequency with which “extra son” trips and hurts himself on the stairs.

 

The A to Z Challenge

And, last but not least, the A to Z Challenge is taking place in April. This is my first posting to meet that challenge. And I’d like to thank Arlee Bird – another A – for starting it!

8 comments on “A is for April

  1. Rinelle Grey
    April 1, 2013

    Blue sky somehow makes it seem less cold I think. Happy Birthday! And your son’s prank fooled me on first glance. 🙂
    Rinelle Grey

  2. rachela
    April 1, 2013

    Extra son will be glad to hear it! Thanks for reading!

  3. Regina Walker
    April 1, 2013

    Good luck on your blog challenge! That’s a cute prank – not one I’ve seen before – cracked me up!
    I blog at http://perceptionsby1.wordpress.com

  4. Kieron Walker
    April 2, 2013

    Wishing you a happy birthday in advance. I think cake is my favorite part as well, but I enjoy mine with a nice scoop of vanilla ice cream on top of it as well.

  5. rachela
    April 2, 2013

    Kieron,
    I’ve been here so long I’d forgotten about the ice cream. Will have to do that this year!
    Regards,
    Rachel

  6. Pingback: B is for Blogging « RACHEL'S RUMINATIONS

  7. Catherine White - Oak Lawn Lady
    April 2, 2013

    And his right arm is tucked so neat under the table. but I’ll bet he had fun putting it together. If something brings a smile to your early morning, then it’s a good thing.
    I like April too. It’s still cold most days here in southern New Brunswick, Canada, but that sun warms things up pretty fast. Already a lot of the early spring flowers are poking up through the ground.
    Looking forward to reading more of you A-Z April challenge.

  8. rachela
    April 3, 2013

    Thanks, Catherine! All of a sudden it seemed like spring today here too.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 1, 2013 by in Family, Life in Holland and tagged , , , .
