RACHEL'S RUMINATIONS!

Sometimes you just have to write…

Mommy’s super-power, by guest blogger Kate McIntyre

 

the teenager’s eye roll

Often, as a mom, I have felt like a superhero. I suppose my original giving of life was heroic although my only super-power (outside projectile vomiting) was not dying in the process.  Certainly the ability to bring succor to a very wee one was rewarding and addictive.

Later, my super-powers became more varied and eccentric.  One gray, dull afternoon CAT wistfully dreamed of popcorn, and I made it for her, in a PAN. She thought it came in bags from the store or in tubs at the movies. In her eyes, in that moment, I was one step below a Greek god. I had made popcorn from nothing. Another time I put a piece of bubble gum in my mouth, chewed it, and blew a bubble. She had never seen me do this before. She could not do it herself. It was a miracle.

Gradually, though, my powers faded. Now that I have a tween, they are almost non-existent.

Almost.

Yesterday, as we sat together on the couch after dinner, CAT turned to me. “Are you doing anything for Valentine’s Day?” she asked.  I knew immediately she was fishing to see if there was something for her.

A little, Chardonnay-fueled she-demon popped up by my ear. “Use it!” the demoness chortled in Carol Channing’s voice. “Use your last power!”

I could not resist. “Well…” I began. “I was going to draw tiny hearts all over my body in places only your father has access to.”

“MOOOOOOOOOOOOOM!” CAT shrieked, “EEEEEEUUUUUUW!  DON’T SAY STUFF LIKE THAT!”

So there it is – my last power – the power of mortification.  I’ll try not to abuse it, but sometimes it’s just too tempting…

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 17, 2013 by in Family and tagged , .
