RACHEL'S RUMINATIONS!

Sometimes you just have to write…

More Self-Indulgence

I know I’ve addressed this before in this blog: the guilt of spending so much money on myself. Well, I’ve done it again, this time in a really big way: I got lens implants.

 

 

Lens implants are like tiny contact lenses that are inserted just under the cornea and anchored in place using two little “hooks.” (Yes, I was awake during the operations. No, it didn’t hurt, but the two shots I had before each operation started did hurt a bit. No, I couldn’t see what they were doing. Yes, it’s reversible. No, there was absolutely no pain afterward, except for a slight headache the following day. Yes, I could see as soon as I took the bandage off four hours after each operation. If you want more gory details, e-mail me.)

 

 

So I got lens implants. I didn’t need them; I had contact lenses and glasses that corrected my vision just fine. I just wanted them, which makes it self-indulgent, right? Okay, you think it’s perfectly reasonable to get the implants, since my eyesight was so bad (-9.5 and -9.0 with contacts, worse with glasses). I haven’t told you the price yet: €2500 per eye! I saved up for the first, and I’m paying the second in instalments. The price makes a difference, doesn’t it? I’ve spent €5000 just on myself.

 

 

To be honest, I know I’ve been self-indulgent, but this time I don’t feel at all guilty. The fact is I’m thrilled with the results. I can see better than I ever could with contacts or glasses. I can swim with my head in the water, which I haven’t done in perhaps 25 years or so. I can fall asleep in the middle of the day and not wake up with painful, dried-out contacts in my eyes. The whites of my eyes are whiter than they’ve been in years since they’re not being irritated by contacts every day. When I wake up in the morning, I can see the clock next to my bed without having to lean out of bed and squint. It’s wonderful. So call me selfish, call me self-indulgent. I don’t care.

2 comments on “More Self-Indulgence

  1. Hillary Isaacs Johnson
    July 29, 2008

    It sounds marvelous and since living in the US and not having traveled lately to the EU I have no concept of what 5000 Euros really represents. Sometimes ignorance is Bliss. I think that if I were in your shoes I wo uld have done it too. All I’m facing as my own eyesight declines is bifocals… Mark Twain said that if we didn’t need glasses by age 17 we had not read enough! Enjoy your new eyeballs!

  2. Sam
    August 9, 2008

    I gave up on contacts years ago – too much trouble. It’s the race between laziness and vanity, and vanity won. Chances are that even if I had the money, I couldn’t get something like this – my eyes are changing again, and my eye doctor threatened last time that I’d need bifocals soon. One can only hope to age gracefully – not aging is an option, but not a pleasant one…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 28, 2008 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .
